Saint-Michel

  • 55,570 people
  • 2nd step in process
  • $175,000 invested

About Saint-Michel

Where strength and inspiration meet generosity

Known for the Miron and Francon quarries that cover a large part of its territory, Saint-Michel stands out with its high numbers of families with children. As half its population are immigrants, Saint-Michel is a large mosaic of cultures. Saint-Michel has also been an engaged neighbourhood for 25 years and has been actively carrying out an urban revitalization plan for over 10 years. Its vision: make Saint-Michel a flagship neighbourhood that is inspiring, shows solidarity, is proud of its diversity, has strong collective action, and becomes a place where people want to live, succeed and grow.

Progress

  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal
  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal

Timeline

Three projects to fight poverty

  1. Food self-sufficiency
  2. Housing
  3. Opening up the neighbourhood

February 2017 Read more

Create working committees

Working committees have been created to develop concrete projects that will receive CIP funding. More to come!

January 2017 Committees work

CIP morning meetings

Three CIP morning meetings are organized to bring together neighbourhood stakeholders and residents. People ask about the levers that could give momentum to the neighbourhood plan. They work out the projects to focus on. Small groups then concentrate on individual priorities.

April to November 2016 Results from the CIP morning meetings (in French only)

How to create a neighbourhood plan

Watch the four videos (in French only) to learn about the four major steps in the process to create a neighbourhood plan.


videos-saint-michel

2014-2018

Measuring progress right from the start

The neighbourhood receives support from Dynamo (French website) to implement a participatory evaluation process. Neighbourhood stakeholders can adjust actions as needed and better communicate results related to reducing poverty and social exclusion.

May 2016

Saint-Michel is chosen

Saint-Michel is chosen to receive intensive CIP support to give new momentum to its collective approach to fight poverty. This approach is based on the neighbourhood’s 2014-2018 plan, which has six priorities: housing, urban development and safety, culture, academic success, skills and employment, and food.  The CIP morning meetings have brought neighbourhood stakeholders and citizens together to earmark projects for CIP support.

March 2016

Discover what your neighbourhoods are doing

Three projects to fight poverty

Three projects from Saint-Michel’s plan will be included in the Collective Impact Project. These projects will focus on neighbourhood’s major issues.

Discover this project

Saint-Michel

  • 55 570 habitants
  • 2e étape en cours
  • 175 000 $ investis

À propos de Saint-Michel

Un quartier fort, inspirant et solidaire

Marqué par la présence des carrières Miron et Francon, qui couvrent une grande partie de son territoire, le quartier Saint-Michel se distingue par la présence d’un nombre important de familles avec enfants. Grande mosaïque des cultures, la moitié de la population du quartier est immigrante. Quartier mobilisé depuis 25 ans, Saint-Michel porte activement un chantier de revitalisation urbaine depuis plus de 10 ans. Sa vision : faire de Saint-Michel un quartier phare, inspirant et solidaire, fier de sa diversité, fort de sa capacité d’agir collectivement, où ses citoyens veulent grandir, réussir et vieillir.

Avancement global

  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler
  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler

Ligne du temps

Trois projets pour lutter contre la pauvreté

  1. Autonomie alimentaire
  2. Logement
  3. Désenclavement du quartier

Février 2017 Lire la suite

Des comités de travail sont formés

Des comités de travail sont formés afin de faire émerger les projets concrets qui seront financés par le PIC. À suivre!

Janvier 2017 Travaux des comités

Les Matinées PIC

Trois matinées PIC regroupant les acteurs du quartier et les citoyens sont organisées. On se questionne sur les leviers qui pourraient donner une impulsion au plan de quartier. On élabore les projets qui seront mis de l’avant. La réflexion se fait en petits groupes formés autour de chaque priorité.

Avril à novembre 2016 Bilan des Matinées PIC

Bâtir son plan de quartier

Découvrez comment se bâtit un plan de quartier en visionnant les quatre vidéos retraçant les étapes importantes du processus.


videos-saint-michel

2014-2018

Une démarche d'évaluation est mise en place dès le début

L’organisme Dynamo accompagne le quartier pour documenter l’impact du PIC. Cet accompagnement s’inscrit dans la démarche d’évaluation du plan de quartier de Saint-Michel, soutenue par les bailleurs de fonds Avenir d’enfants et Québec en forme.

Mai 2016

Le quartier Saint-Michel est choisi

Le quartier Saint-Michel est choisi pour recevoir un soutien intensif du PIC afin de donner une nouvelle impulsion à sa démarche collective de lutte contre la pauvreté. Cette démarche s’appuie sur le plan de quartier 2014-2018, lequel est articulé autour de six priorités : l'habitation, l'aménagement urbain et la sécurité, la culture, la réussite éducative, la qualification et l'emploi, ainsi que l'alimentation.  Des matinées PIC rassemblant les acteurs du quartier et les citoyens s’organisent afin de déterminer quels seront les projets appuyés par le PIC.

Mars 2016

Découvrez les réalisations de ce quartier

Trois projets pour lutter contre la pauvreté

Trois projets du plan de quartier de Saint-Michel qui agissent sur de grands enjeux du quartier seront intégrés dans le Projet impact collectif.

Découvrir ce projet