Pointe-aux-Trembles

  • 49,070 people
  • 2nd step in process
  • $80,000

About Pointe-aux-Trembles

Where revitalization is a big concern

Pointe-aux-Trembles is located at the east end of Montreal between Autoroute 40 and the St. Lawrence River. Although the train makes it easy to get to downtown, it’s still a major challenge to get around inside the neighbourhood via public transit. Despite a small number of low-income people in the territory, poverty and its associated realities are very present in some areas and for many families made vulnerable from recent job losses. The neighbourhood has taken action to reach out to the populations in these sectors. It intends to continue revitalizing these communities and to build bridges with Montréal-Est, the neighbouring area that is also home to a vulnerable population.

Progress

  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal
  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal

Timeline

The neighbourhood's target project: “Breaking Down Barriers”

The goal of this project is to build bridges with neighbouring Montréal-Est, which is also home to a vulnerable population. Although it has great needs, this population currently has access to few services and activities. The goal will be to break down barriers between these neighbourhoods to reach more children and families.

December 2016

Pointe-aux-Trembles is chosen

Pointe-aux-Trembles is chosen to receive moderate CIP support to implement a specific project from its neighbourhood plan. This project will produce concrete results to reduce poverty and social exclusion.

March 2016

Pointe-aux-Trembles

  • 49 070 habitants
  • 2e étape en cours
  • 80 000 $

À propos de Pointe-aux-Trembles

La revitalisation au cœur des préoccupations

Le quartier Pointe-aux-Trembles est situé à l’extrémité est de l’île de Montréal, entre l’autoroute 40 et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Bien que le train vienne faciliter les déplacements vers le centre-ville, le transport collectif demeure un enjeu majeur pour les déplacements à l’intérieur du quartier. Malgré une mince proportion de personnes à faible revenu sur tout le territoire, la pauvreté et ses réalités associées sont bien présentes dans certaines enclaves du quartier et chez de nombreuses familles précarisées par de récentes pertes d’emploi. Le quartier a mis en place des actions dans le but de rejoindre la population de ces secteurs. Il entend poursuivre la revitalisation de leurs milieux de vie et bâtir des ponts avec Montréal-Est, la municipalité voisine, qui abrite également une population vulnérable.

Avancement global

  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler
  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler

Ligne du temps

Le projet « Milieux de vie » est ciblé par le quartier

Ce projet vise à bâtir des ponts avec Montréal-Est, la municipalité voisine de Pointe-aux-Trembles, qui abrite également une population vulnérable. Malgré qu’elle rencontre de grands besoins, cette population a présentement accès à peu de services et d’activités. Il s’agira d’abaisser les barrières entre les quartiers pour rejoindre davantage les enfants et les familles.

Décembre 2016

Le quartier Pointe-aux-Trembles est choisi

Le quartier Pointe-aux-Trembles est choisi pour recevoir un soutien modéré du PIC afin de mettre en oeuvre un projet précis de son plan de quartier. Ce projet produira des résultats concrets sur la réduction de la pauvreté et de l'exclusion sociale.

Mars 2016