Peter-McGill

  • 54,540 people
  • 2nd step in process
  • $322,062$ invested

About Peter-McGill

Where families will have a voice

In the heart of Montreal, the Peter-McGill neighbourhood is attracting young families, particularly families made up of new immigrants. Proximity to jobs, shops and Mount Royal and ease of travel via public transit are some of its many benefits. However, families don’t stay because the area lacks infrastructure. For example, it lacks a local school, community centre, green space, and affordable family housing. The neighbourhood intends to increase the involvement of families, youth and seniors to ensure their voices are heard as the neighbourhood develops.

Progress

  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal
  1. Involvement
    and exploration
  2. Idea turned
    into action
  3. Implementation
    and experiments
  4. Initiative
    scale-up
  5. Support
    and renewal

Timeline

Latest news about the school project

After the colouring campaign and Hector (age 9) who brought his wishes to the Borough Council, what’s next?  

January 12, 2018 Read the article

The community is working hard to mobilize to get public primary schools in the neighbourhood

December 2017 Read the article

A student quarter... but no public school for kids and teens

Thirteen youth express their thoughts and feelings on the lack of public schools in Peter-McGill through animated GIFs.

Where are public schools in Peter-McGill?

Une belle vidéo par Marie-Pierre Labrie, qui a animé un atelier d'art avec des jeunes de Peter-McGill et ailleurs la semaine passé. Treize participants ont exprimé leurs opinions et sentiments à propos du manque d’écoles publiques dans Peter-McGill, en créant des GIFs animés! Le 6 décembre à 17h à Innovation Jeunes – Innovation Youth, venez voir leurs oeuvres et partager vos opinions pour déterminer les prochaines étapes pour que cette école, essentielle dans Peter-McGill, voie le jour. Détails ici: https://www.facebook.com/events/1800204626678011/Take a look at this beautiful video by Marie-Pierre Labrie, who recently facilitated an art workshop with youth from Peter-McGill and other neighbourhoods. Thirteen participants expressed their thoughts and feelings on the lack of public schools in Peter-McGill through animated GIFs! On December 6th at 5pm at Innovation Youth, come see their work, and discuss the next steps in making sure the first public primary school in Peter-McGill gets built! Event details here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1800204626678011/

Posted by Interaction du quartier Peter-McGill on Thursday, November 16, 2017

 

November 2017

The 1st forum on urban development

Residents, fellow students and coworkers in the district are invited to discuss the issues that matter to them, including housing, green space and the future community centre

October 14, 2017 Follow the event on Facebook

Citizens come together

May 25, 2017

The community is invited to the project launch

Neighbourhood residents, students, workers and agencies are invited to come learn the key components of the “Peter-McGill en action” project and share their ideas, meet their neighbours, discover agencies, and find out about activities and events going on during summer 2017.

May 25, 2017 Participate

A team is now in place

A team is set up to help the neighbourhood create spaces for families, which means seizing opportunities for influence; surveying residents to ask them about their concerns; getting agencies involved; and informing people about new developments.

February 2017

The neighbourhood's target project: “Working Together For Each Other”

The goal of this project is to increase the involvement of families, youth and seniors to ensure that their voices are heard when it comes to neighbourhood development. To help residents feel more at home in the community, especially people who are vulnerable and in a situation of poverty, the neighbourhood wants to add parks, a school, a community centre and affordable housing.

December 2016

Peter-McGill is chosen

Peter-McGill is chosen to receive moderate CIP support to implement a specific project from its neighbourhood plan. This project will produce concrete results to reduce poverty and social exclusion.

March 2016

Peter-McGill

  • 54 540 habitants
  • 2e étape en cours
  • 322 062 $ investis

À propos de Peter-McGill

La parole aux citoyens

En plein cœur de Montréal, le quartier Peter-McGill attire de plus en plus de jeunes familles, particulièrement issues de la nouvelle immigration. Proximité du travail, des commerces, du Mont-Royal, déplacements facilités grâce au transport en commun, les avantages sont nombreux. Pourtant, les familles qui s’y installent n’y restent pas, faute d’infrastructures adaptées. Le quartier entend jouer un rôle actif afin que tout plan de développement inclue la voix citoyenne et tienne compte des besoins de la population.

Avancement global

  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler
  1. Impliquer
    et explorer
  2. Passer de l’idée
    à l’action
  3. Mettre en oeuvre
    et expérimenter
  4. Intensifier
    les efforts
  5. Soutenir
    et renouveler

Ligne du temps

La voix des citoyens fait écho

Deux grandes nouvelles pour le quartier : La construction de deux écoles primaires et un pas de plus vers l'implantation d'un nouveau centre culturel et communautaire.

  1. Deux nouvelles écoles primaires au centre-ville de Montréal
  2. Un pas de plus vers l'implantation d'un nouveau centre culturel et communautaire dans l'ouest du centre-ville

Juin 2018

Un an et déjà de belles avancées

Mon Peter-McGill fête ses 1 an !

25 mai 2018

Où est notre école?

Une école en plein air pour réclamer une vraie école sur le site de l’ancien Hôpital pour enfants de Montréal.

Lire l’article ici 

 

3 mars 2018

Dossier école de quartier : les dernières nouvelles

Après la campagne de coloriage et l'intervention d'Hector (9 ans) au conseil d'arrondissement, quelle sera la suite?  

12 janvier 2018 Lire l'article

La communauté redouble d’effort dans la mobilisation pour une école de quartier

Décembre 2017 Lire l'article

Un quartier étudiant... sans école primaire

Treize jeunes expriment leurs opinions et sentiments à propos du manque d’écoles publiques dans Peter-McGill en créant des GIFs animés.

Where are public schools in Peter-McGill?

Une belle vidéo par Marie-Pierre Labrie, qui a animé un atelier d'art avec des jeunes de Peter-McGill et ailleurs la semaine passé. Treize participants ont exprimé leurs opinions et sentiments à propos du manque d’écoles publiques dans Peter-McGill, en créant des GIFs animés! Le 6 décembre à 17h à Innovation Jeunes – Innovation Youth, venez voir leurs oeuvres et partager vos opinions pour déterminer les prochaines étapes pour que cette école, essentielle dans Peter-McGill, voie le jour. Détails ici: https://www.facebook.com/events/1800204626678011/Take a look at this beautiful video by Marie-Pierre Labrie, who recently facilitated an art workshop with youth from Peter-McGill and other neighbourhoods. Thirteen participants expressed their thoughts and feelings on the lack of public schools in Peter-McGill through animated GIFs! On December 6th at 5pm at Innovation Youth, come see their work, and discuss the next steps in making sure the first public primary school in Peter-McGill gets built! Event details here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1800204626678011/

Posted by Interaction du quartier Peter-McGill on Thursday, November 16, 2017

 

Novembre 2017

1er forum sur l'aménagement urbain

Résidents, étudiants et travailleurs du quartier sont invités à discuter des enjeux qui les touchent, incluant les espaces verts, le logement et le futur centre communautaire.

14 octobre 2017 Suivez l'événement sur Facebook

Les citoyens se rassemblent

25 mai 2017

La communauté est conviée au lancement du projet

Résidents, étudiants, travailleurs et organismes du quartier sont invités à venir découvrir les grandes lignes du projet Peter-McGill en action et à partager leurs idées. Une occasion pour rencontrer ses voisins,  découvrir les organismes et mettre à l'agenda les activités et événements de l'été 2017.

25 mai 2017 Participer

Une nouvelle équipe est mise en place

Une équipe est mise en place afin de mener le quartier vers la création d'espaces pour les familles : saisir les occasions d'influences, recueillir les préoccupations des résidents, mobiliser les organismes, informer sur les développements.

Mars 2017 Lire la suite

Le projet « Ensemble pour un quartier qui nous ressemble » est ciblé par le quartier

Le projet vise à accroître la mobilisation des familles, des jeunes et des aînés afin que leur voix soit entendue dans le cadre du développement du quartier. Pour favoriser l'enracinement des résidents, particulièrement ceux en situation de vulnérabilité et de pauvreté, on souhaite l'ajout de parcs, d'une école, d'un centre communautaire et de logements abordables.

Décembre 2016

Le quartier Peter-McGill est choisi

Le quartier Peter-McGill est choisi pour recevoir un soutien modéré du PIC afin de mettre en oeuvre un projet précis de son plan de quartier. Ce projet produira des résultats concrets sur la réduction de la pauvreté et de l'exclusion sociale.

Mars 2016