Bordeaux-Cartierville Community Center

About this project

In Bordeaux-Cartierville, which has a history of creating consultation processes for collective choices, the CIP has been added to other funding sources to create the Bordeaux-Cartierville Community Center (Maison de quartier de Bordeaux-Cartierville), a collective project that has been in the works for some time now.

This community centre project in Bordeaux-Cartierville has a long and rich history. How quickly it progresses over the next two years will depend mainly on the game plan of the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough, which owns and is responsible for developing the building purchased for the community centre.

MILESTONES IN THIS COLLECTIVE PROJECT

2008

As part of the neighbourhood’s strategic social development process, the CLIC surveys 481 citizens and interviews 25 stakeholders in Bordeaux-Cartierville. The idea of a multicultural and multigenerational centre for cultural activities and public gatherings emerges as a priority. The concept of a space for both the community and residents is brought up for the first time.

The community centre project becomes one of the four priorities in the neighbourhood’s “Cartiervivre 2009-2012” social development plan.

2009-2012

A community centre committee is created and meets 17 times between April 2009 and June 2012. The committee includes about ten members of the CLIC (Conseil local des intervenants de Bordeaux-Cartierville). During this time, the committee works to identify potential sites for the project, study needs, see what is being done elsewhere, and give presentations to decision-makers. Work progresses slowly. No real opportunity presents itself.

2011

The Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough hires a company to conduct a diagnosis and create a cultural facility development plan. Bordeaux-Cartierville is identified as a neighbourhood that lacks cultural facilities like a library and cultural promotion space. At this point, the borough becomes more and more committed to the idea of a multipurpose centre that would include cultural, community and citizen space.

2013

Another strategic social development process for the neighbourhood involves a survey of 317 residents of Bordeaux-Cartierville. Once again, the survey shows the desire for a multipurpose meeting space in the territory. The community centre is again chosen as a priority and is included in the neighbourhood’s 2013-2018 plan, “Bordeaux-Cartierville, quartier de tous les possibles.”

2013 municipal elections

Most candidates stress the importance of creating a community centre in B-C.

2015

The Sisters of Providence of the Émilie-Gamelin Province announce their intention to sell their vast building on Grenet Street. The borough and the CLIC visit the site right away. Discussions and negotiations start between the Sisters and the borough.

June 13, 2016

The Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough council officially adopts a resolution to make an offer to purchase the Sisters’ building.

November 14, 2016

The borough council approves the plan to purchase the Sisters of Providence building.

February 1, 2017

The community centre committee visits the Sisters of Providence building.

Coming soon

The borough will take possession of the Grenet Street building by the end of 2018. Steps still need to be taken before then, but the core of the project will take shape once the citizen space becomes functional.

The role of the Collective Impact Project

March 2016

Bordeaux-Cartierville is chosen to receive moderate CIP support to implement a specific project in its neighbourhood plan.

April 2016

The CLIC selects a consultation process to collectively choose the component of the neighbourhood action plan that will be supported by the CIP.

September and October 2016

The Citizen Space at the Community Centre project is chosen as the neighbourhood plan component that will receive CIP support.

November 16, 2016

About sixty residents come together for an evening to share their ideas, thoughts, and reflections to shape the future of the citizen space.

February 21, 2017

The Citizen Space at the Community Centre project receives CIP support.

To know more on this project

Hope remains despite little progress

The issue? As long as the neighbourhood doesn't know where or how big the future Citizen Space will be, it can’t start creating or even planning the space.

November 2017 Learn more

Maison de quartier de Bordeaux-Cartierville

À propos du projet

Dans Bordeaux-Cartierville, une communauté qui a une certaine habitude des processus de concertation menant à des choix collectifs, le PIC vient s’ajouter à d’autres fonds qui, tous ensemble, permettront la réalisation de la Maison de quartier de Bordeaux-Cartierville, un projet collectif qui fait son chemin depuis un certain temps déjà.

Si le projet de Maison de quartier a un riche et long historique dans Bordeaux-Cartierville, la vitesse à laquelle il progressera d’ici les deux prochaines années est surtout tributaire du plan de match que se donnera l’arrondissement d’Ahuntsic-Cartierville, propriétaire de l’édifice ciblé et responsable du réaménagement d’ensemble.

Quelques moments-clés de l’action collective

2008

Dans le cadre d’une démarche de planification stratégique de quartier en développement social, le CLIC mène un sondage auprès de 481 citoyens et 25 entrevues avec des acteurs de Bordeaux-Cartierville. L’idée d’avoir un lieu multiculturel et multigénérationnel qui servira à la pratique d’activités culturelles et à des rassemblements citoyens émerge alors comme une priorité. La notion de lieu à la fois communautaire et citoyen est nommée pour la première fois.

Le projet auquel on donne le nom de Maison de quartier devient une des quatre priorités du plan de quartier en développement social « Cartiervivre 2009-2012 ».

2009-2012

Le comité Maison de quartier est mis en place et se rencontre à 17 reprises entre avril 2009 et juin 2012. Il est composé d’une dizaine de participants membres du CLIC (Conseil local des intervenants de Bordeaux-Cartierville). Le comité travaille durant ces années à identifier des sites potentiels pour le projet, fait une étude de besoins, étudie ce qui se fait ailleurs et fait quelques représentations auprès des décideurs. Le travail avance lentement. Aucune occasion réelle ne se présente.

2011

Une firme réalise pour l’arrondissement d’Ahuntsic-Cartierville un diagnostic et un plan de développement des équipements culturels. Bordeaux-Cartierville est alors identifié comme étant un district dépourvu d’équipements culturels (bibliothèque et espace de diffusion culturelle). À partir de là, l’arrondissement s’engage de plus en plus vers la voie d’un centre multifonctionnel, qui inclurait à la fois des espaces culturels, communautaires et citoyens.

2013

Autre démarche de planification stratégique de quartier en développement social : un sondage auprès de 317 citoyens de Bordeaux-Cartierville révèle une fois de plus le désir d’avoir un lieu de rassemblement multifonctionnel sur le territoire. La Maison de quartier est choisie à nouveau comme une des actions prioritaires, cette fois du plan 2013-2018 « Bordeaux-Cartierville, quartier de tous les possibles ».

Campagne électorale municipale 2013

La plupart des candidats mettent de l’avant l’importance de doter B-C de sa Maison de quartier.

2015

Les Sœurs de la Providence, Province Émilie-Gamelin, annoncent leur intention de mettre en vente leur vaste immeuble de la rue Grenet. Rapidement, l’arrondissement et le CLIC visitent les lieux. Des discussions, puis des négociations s’entament entre les Sœurs et l’arrondissement.

13 juin 2016

Adoption officielle par les élus du conseil d’arrondissement d’Ahuntsic-Cartierville de la résolution visant le dépôt de la promesse d’achat par la Ville de l’édifice des Soeurs.

14 novembre 2016

Approbation par les élus du conseil d’arrondissement du projet d’acte d’achat de l’édifice des Sœurs de la Providence.

1er février 2017

Visite de l’édifice des Sœurs de la Providence par tous les membres du comité Maison de quartier.

À venir

La prise de possession de l’édifice de la rue Grenet devrait se faire à la fin 2018. Certaines étapes seront franchies avant cette date, mais le cœur du projet prendra forme une fois que les Espaces citoyens seront fonctionnels.

Le Projet impact collectif dans tout cela

Mars 2016

Le quartier Bordeaux-Cartierville est choisi pour recevoir un soutien modéré du PIC afin de mettre en oeuvre un projet précis de son plan de quartier.

Avril 2016

Le CLIC détermine un processus de concertation pour choisir collectivement l’action du plan de quartier qui sera soutenue par le PIC.

Septembre et octobre 2016

Le projet Espaces citoyens de la Maison de quartier est ciblé par le quartier comme étant la composante du plan de quartier qui sera soutenue par le PIC.

16 novembre 2016

Soirée d’idéation citoyenne durant laquelle une soixantaine de participants réfléchissent, s’expriment et façonnent les futurs Espaces citoyens.

21 février 2017

Le projet Espaces citoyens de la Maison de quartier reçoit l’appui du PIC.